Station usage by region
Estimated entries and exits summed across stations in each region · 2024–25 · ORR. A journey may contribute to more than one station, so these are not unique passengers.
Public transport evidence · Great Britain
Official annual estimates add a demand layer to Place Checker’s existing transport-node evidence. They describe estimated station entries and exits, not punctuality, crowding or service quality.
2024–25 release
The busiest-station table is deliberately bounded. Explore the history of the busiest 40 stations below. These station totals are not joined to individual postcodes.
Estimated entries and exits summed across stations in each region · 2024–25 · ORR. A journey may contribute to more than one station, so these are not unique passengers.
Explore a station
Annual estimated entries and exits. These are station visits, not unique passengers, and changes in methodology can affect comparisons.
Office of Rail and Road · published financial years, oldest first. Gaps remain gaps; figures do not describe service quality.
| Station | Region | Local authority | Entries and exits |
|---|---|---|---|
| London Liverpool StreetLST | London | Not stated | 98,015,658 |
| London WaterlooWAT | London | Not stated | 70,389,546 |
| London PaddingtonPAD | London | Not stated | 69,897,084 |
| Tottenham Court RoadTCR | London | Not stated | 68,133,826 |
| London BridgeLBG | London | Not stated | 54,685,648 |
| London VictoriaVIC | London | Not stated | 53,784,358 |
| Stratford (London)SRA | London | Not stated | 51,473,518 |
| FarringdonZFD | London | Not stated | 50,171,290 |
| Bond StreetBDS | London | Not stated | 42,752,242 |
| London EustonEUS | London | Not stated | 40,248,974 |
| London St Pancras InternationalSTP | London | Not stated | 38,842,772 |
| WhitechapelZLW | London | Not stated | 37,140,828 |
| Birmingham New StreetBHM | West Midlands | Not stated | 36,623,678 |
| London Kings CrossKGX | London | Not stated | 27,727,108 |
| Manchester PiccadillyMAN | North West | Not stated | 27,401,610 |
| LeedsLDS | Yorkshire and The Humber | Not stated | 27,309,508 |
| Glasgow CentralGLC | Scotland | Not stated | 25,293,930 |
| Clapham JunctionCLJ | London | Not stated | 24,447,510 |
| Highbury and IslingtonHHY | London | Not stated | 23,982,528 |
| EdinburghEDB | Scotland | Not stated | 22,755,164 |
| Gatwick AirportGTW | South East | Not stated | 21,211,048 |
| East CroydonECR | London | Not stated | 20,592,106 |
| London Charing CrossCHX | London | Not stated | 19,767,784 |
| Canada WaterZCW | London | Not stated | 18,668,762 |
| Canary WharfCWX | London | Not stated | 15,927,588 |
| VauxhallVXH | London | Not stated | 15,534,168 |
| Ealing BroadwayEAL | London | Not stated | 15,456,598 |
| BrightonBTN | South East | Not stated | 15,328,450 |
| London BlackfriarsBFR | London | Not stated | 15,193,088 |
| Glasgow Queen StreetGLQ | Scotland | Not stated | 14,950,752 |
| Liverpool CentralLVC | North West | Not stated | 14,820,216 |
| Liverpool Lime StreetLIV | North West | Not stated | 14,430,214 |
| ReadingRDG | South East | Not stated | 14,324,664 |
| WoolwichWWC | London | Not stated | 13,755,990 |
| BarkingBKG | London | Not stated | 13,359,426 |
| WimbledonWIM | London | Not stated | 13,244,436 |
| Cardiff CentralCDF | Wales | Not stated | 12,513,720 |
| RomfordRMF | London | Not stated | 12,143,302 |
| Abbey WoodABW | London | Not stated | 11,873,686 |
| London MaryleboneMYB | London | Not stated | 11,772,892 |
Source and limits
Office of Rail and Road, Estimates of Station Usage, 2024–25 and historical series, licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Estimates can be revised and interchange methodology matters at some stations.
Shared catalogue checked 2026-08-28: 88 candidate data layers listed. Catalogue presence is not publication approval; only separately approved public projections may be shown.